{nfsa.gov.in} One Nation One Ration Card


About NFSA

NFSA stands for National Food Security Act. A certified document issued by the states in India to their citizens which makes them eligible to buy subsidized food grain under NFSA’s Public Distribution System (PDS). They also serve as identity proof for many citizens. In January this year, Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan announced NDA’s determined project of ‘One Nation One Ration Card’(1). In layman’s language, this would allow people to procure food (rice, sugar, wheat, etc.) from anywhere in the country. On May 13th, the Finance Minister Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman announced this as a relief for millions of stranded migrant workers, under the stimulus package announced of Rs.20 lakh crore by the government

They are normally categorized on the basis of the annual income of the beneficiaries. Each family can own a ration card, and children who are below the age of 18 are covered in the ration card of their parents. However, it is not a compulsory but important document for people to have. Its holders are entitled to food, fuel, and other goods dispensed by the government. Through Ration Card, they have the option to buy food grains at subsidized prices. Ration cards take into account the total members in a family and their entitlement towards the subsidized food. With the passage of time, the online service of applying for Ration card and checking their costs has been made available to people. This has obviously put a bar on the corrupt practices and ensuring that the card reaches the deprived.

Currently, 23 crore ration cards have been issued to about 80 crore beneficiaries, As per the report by Business Standard. Existing norms tell us that a family linked to a particular FPS can buy the supplies only from the designated supplier. However, this new scheme of one nation one ration card would allow beneficiaries to buy food at subsidized rates from anywhere in the country.

Note: If you are from UP then apply UP Ration Card here and you will get all details in Hindi. It’s a very easy process.


Broadly, there are two categories of ration cards:

  1. BPL(Below Poverty Line): Ration cards under BPL are further classified on the basis of colors, depending upon the entitlement to beneficiaries. They can be either blue or yellow or green or red. These holders are provided with food grains, fuel, and other essential goods.
  2. Non-Below Poverty Line: People above the poverty line are issued a white color Ration Card. They are for the purpose of identification. (2)

NFSA has now categorized the ration card in two categories:

  • Priority Household ration card (PHH)
  • Antyodaya Anna Yojana (AYY).

Households which meet the eligibility criteria set by the state government are issued PHH ration card. Each member of their household is entitled to 5kg food grain per month. And those households which fall into the category of “poorest of poor” are issued AYY ration card. Each member of the AYY cardholder is entitled to 35kg food grain per month.


Any person who is a citizen of India is eligible to apply for the ration card. People under the age of 18 are covered under the ration card of their paternities. If anyone wants to apply for a ration card individually then (He/she) age must be 18+.


  • Proof of residence and ID (Aadhar card, Driving license, Voter ID card, Employee ID, or any other government-issued ID card)
  • 3-Passport sized photographs
  • Gas Connection details
  • Contact number
  • Self-addressed and stamped postcard
  • Annual income details(Bank Statement)
  • If you want to add or remove any member in the ration card, You have to required a marriage/birth/death/transfer certificate as per the requirement.


You can apply ration card online below link, Please check you state and and visit official website state wise.

Ration Card Details on State-UT Portals

Ration Cards/Beneficiary under NFSA

Andhra PradeshA & N IslandsArunachal Pradesh
ChhattisgarhDadra & Nagar HaveliDaman & Diu
HaryanaHimachal PradeshJammu & Kashmir
LakshadweepMadhya PradeshMaharashtra
Tamil NaduTelanaganaTripura
Uttar PradeshUttarakhandWest Bengal
(Click the name of State/UT to view their respective Ration Card reports)


EPDS stands for Electronic Public Distribution System and it has been launched state governments so applicants can get a ration card, check the cost and availability of food grain online.

It’s an online system based on new technology that will provide you instant solutions to the beneficiaries through ePOS devices positioned at FPSs. Hence, enabling the person to buy the foodgrains he/she is entitled to under NFSA.

(Frequently Asked Questions) FAQ’s


The whole procedure of applying for a ration card varies from state to state. With the procedure having moved online, the process is less complicated and the ration card can be applied instantaneously. However, the process of each state is different however the basic arrangement remains the same.
The applicant is charged a nominal fee and once the application is submitted, it is then sent for the process of verification. This whole process of checking the credentials takes about 30-45 days from the date of submission. After corroborating the specifics, the ration card is issued. And if any person is found conveying misleading or false information, he or she becomes liable for punishment under law as well as a criminal suit.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 7

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Share It

Leave a Reply